Best Friend

9244712-md

The taste of tart plums weeping juice,
The strains of ‘Let it Be’, ‘Hey, Jude’,
The brine-encrusted rocky seashore-
Can never let me forget you.
You will always be my belle.

TheΒ best friend tag expired
Along with our friendship.
I won’t be offering it anymore.
That cracked part of my heart
Belongs to you alone.

Leaving was the first step,
But I don’t remember now
When we took the last one.
My bookshelf holds your books,
But they’re mine now to keep.

[AN- This was a response to a prompt on The Daily Post.]

For our final trio prompt of the year, write about any topic you wish, but make sure your post featuresΒ a bookcase, something cracked, and a song you love.

22 responses to “Best Friend

  1. ethereal imagery; that it’s a monday morning somehow makes it even better. best friends are interesting creatures, aren’t they. i have felt nothing more fleeting yet confident than the love for a supposed best friend.

      • Thank you so much!
        I’m so glad too that I happened to stumble across your blog today! I started reading and I couldn’t stop. You really have a gift for writing beautifully evocative poetry. I look forward to reading more! πŸ™‚

      • I don’t get out and explore often, and most of the people I know have found me. I’m very glad you found me because it opened my eyes to your words, which are beautiful! πŸ’•πŸ’•

      • The funny thing is that I don’t explore much either! How lucky that I was feeling adventurous and decided to today. πŸ™‚
        It is so rare to find writing of your caliber πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ❀
        And you write such insightful and wonderful comments! It is such a pleasure to interact with you. πŸ™‚

      • I agree! πŸ™‚

        I consider my most successful posts to be the ones which could connect to the most people, and which elicited the most feedback. It is very interesting to find out the opinions of different people. πŸ™‚

        ❀ πŸ™‚

      • I agree. Sometimes it’s hard to get people to comment on a post. Thank you for taking the time to do that! It’s great to hear the insights of others. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

