Nightmare

wallhaven-81330

Every time I am trapped unawares
In the headlight of your open gaze,
You jolt my tepid pulse awake,
My uncloaked eyes all ablaze.

My life is suddenly skewered
So simply into black and white,
I stumble drowsily in a nightmare,
My stone heart stricken by a blight.

My emotions were cauterized
Long before; they do not weep.
But dreams die too soon to learn,
Your specter cannibalizes my sleep.
.
[AN- This will probably be the last rhyming poem I ever write. My brain nearly hemorrhaged trying to fit the words I wanted into the brackets of a rhyme. Have a great week!

Image source- wallhaven.cc ]

10 responses to “Nightmare

  1. Almost all good things requires a big effort, you have achieved a great result, a wonderful poem Amrita.
    Congratulations !! … And encouragement to continue :))

Leave a Reply

